Proud at pride

Although this isn’t my usual type of post I thought it was appropriate given that the last of pride weekend is behind us and the fact that this topic is something I feel very strongly about.

Every year I attend Brighton’s Gay Pride and it is my tradition to buy a new rainbow bracelet each time. I wear the bracelet as a way to remind me of the struggle that this amazing community has gone through, I see it as my own personal way of combatting the issue of homophobia amongst heterosexuals. I know that this isn’t a lot but it’s something small that I can do and I feel is very important.
While wearing this bracelet I receive many questions ranging from ‘are you gay?’ or ‘do you not think its insensitive to be wearing this and acting like you’re gay’ to ‘all gay people should wear that bracelet so everyone knows they’re gay’, not only this but during the build-up to pride I was actually receiving a few unsettling questions such as ‘what happens if someone of your own sex hits on you?’. Well what do you usually do when someone hits on you? If you are interested then accept it and if you are not then reject it. And if you usually don’t experience flirtation on a regular basis, what makes you think that suddenly just because you’re at pride you’ll turn into hot property?

The fact that I feel the need to clarify this shows that although yes, we’ve come so far in our society from where it was 50 years ago, very sadly, we haven’t come far enough. The pride flag is not a badge that warns people to the fact that someone is gay. It is a symbol of the LGBTIQA movement, a way of showing solidarity and support. The mistake that people make is assuming that for one weekend out of the year, in different locations, they should show support for the movement and that it should then be forgotten until next year. This is not okay. If every day we show some form of support then maybe the process of coming out won’t be so difficult, and soon it won’t be a process at all.
I really do hope that my son or daughter would feel as though they could introduce me to their boyfriend or girlfriend, of the same sex, in the exact same way that they would introduce me to their partner of the opposite sex, there should not be any difference.
Love is love.

(Disclaimer: I know that there are a multitude of different movements out there, and myself being black and female fit two of them categories. However, this post is about the LGBTIQA movement so lets just focus on that for the minute please.)

Thank you and remember, love always wins

xoxo

Leave a Reply

